Virginia DUI Resources

Virginia boasts some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. Anyone who exhibits impaired driving or tests with a breath alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher can be charged with a DUI. On the first offense a driver is fined at least $250 and his license is suspended for one year. On the second offense the fine doubles, the suspension climbs to three years, and jail time is included. Subsequent offenses result in greater penalties, eventually leading to forfeiture of the vehicle, an indefinite revocation of the license, and a felony prosecution.

Virginia DUI insurance is mandatory for anyone convicted of an alcohol-related or drug-related driving charge. The policy must meet the state’s liability requirements, and the insurer must file form FR-44 to confirm continuous coverage. JMAC can help you understand the process for getting Virginia DUI insurance and arrange for a low-cost policy from one of our partners.

Individuals and businesses are required to meet the Virginia insurance obligations summarized below, but you have a choice for your partner along the way. Decades of experience and over 12,000 satisfied customers are just two reasons why the preferred Virginia insurance agency is JMAC.

FR44 INSURANCE / DUI INSURANCE

FR44 insurance, with related DUI insurance, is required under Virginia law for anyone convicted of driving under the influence or driving under a suspended or revoked license. FR44 insurance is stricter than SR22 DUI insurance. It requires minimum auto insurance coverage of $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injuries and $40,000 for property damage. If you fall into these categories, JMAC can help you find an attorney and fight to keep your car on the road.

VEHICLE INSURANCE

To limit personal liability, most Virginians choose to take out a vehicle insurance policy that meets state minimums. The policy must cover at least $25,000 in the case of bodily injury or death to a single person, $50,000 in the case of bodily injury or death to multiple people, and $20,000 in the case of property damage due to motorist activity.

HOME INSURANCE

Comprehensive Home Insurance can protect families against accidents, natural disasters, vandalism, theft, and other unexpected events. Even though most homeowners are required by their mortgage companies to carry Home Insurance, renters and landlords can also benefit from policies. JMAC offers insurance for personal possessions, physical structures, and both combined.

WORKERS COMP INSURANCE

Virginia workers comp insurance pays for medical bills, disability benefits, and death benefits in the event that a worker is hurt or killed on the job. All companies with more than two full-time or part-time staff members must maintain workers comp insurance. Failure to purchase coverage can result in a $5,000 fine or closure of the business. Companies with only one or two employees have the choice of purchasing coverage.

GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE

You can protect assets and cash flow with a general liability insurance policy that will cover costs for legal damages, medical expenses, attorney fees, and court costs arising during the normal course of business. JMAC’s Virginia general liability insurance can keep your business operating even after an employee destroys customer property or the company is found to be negligent.

Comments are closed